Wisdom of the Hopi Indians

 

328463699_f0d22c21b2

photo by: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mandj98/

“Wisdom comes only when you stop looking for it and start living the life the Creator intended for you.” – Hopi Indian

 

One of my college professors lived near a Hopi Indian Mission as a child. She often talked of the reservation and the lovely things she did there, including making a ceremonial drum. Now I have never made a drum, but to hear her describe the process, it is quite laborious. You have to work with a partner to pull the hides, wrap the edges and what not. After the hides are all stretched and attached you must wait for it to dry before you can actually beat it. Depending on the time of year it can take a while, which as you can imagine is torture for a young child. As she waited and waited, thoughts of giving up and just banging the silly thing regularly ran through her mind. One morning she decided she was going to give in when she heard the taught hide ping. Quickly she recalled the Indian woman telling the drum-making group the “pings meant something wonderful was happening, and now is the most important time to be patient, as the drum is almost ready.”  

 

Thinking of my life, I often just want to play the drum, even if it is not right, it is mine and I want it. I, like most of the country, tend to focus on instant gratification. I have a hard time saving money, sticking to an exercise routine or sustaining new hobbies all because the reward is not immediate. I don’t listen for the pings.

 

What if I did? Would we be able to save for that trip to Disneyland? Would I be back to my pre-baby weight? Would I finally learn to crochet? This week as we find our fire, let’s listen for the pings, the times where something wonderful is happening and try to be patient as hard as it may be.  The reward is almost ready.

Leave a Reply

