It’s Sunday!

Vintage Recipe Week -Starts Tomorrow

csc_00431

Tomorrow starts Vintage Recipe Week! I am excited. I was fun looking through all the old books and notes my grandmothers had written in the margins. On one of my MawMaw’s recipes, my name, birth time, birth weight and height were written on the back. She said she was making those cookies when my dad called to tell here I had arrived in this world. I decided we would probably have to do our “regular” breakfast and lunches on TWTH and F, because we will all be doing the work/daycare thing. But all day Monday and Dinner everyday will be from a “vintage” recipe. And of course, each day will have a dessert (remember, we like to eat!) I know some of these that other currently make, but everything will be new for us. Here is my posting plan….

Monday-

Breakfast: Eggs and Cheese or a quiche ( I can’t decide)

Lunch: Hot Doggities

Dinner: Barbeque Cups

Dessert: again, I can’t decide, I will poll the other Zoo members tomorrow

Tuesday-

Dinner: Pennies and Potatoes

Dessert: Cinnamon Pastry Stars

Wednesday-

Dinner: Oriental Tuna Casserole

Dessert: Crispy Confections

Thursday-

Dinner: Enchiladas

Dessert: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Friday-

Dinner: Huntington Chicken

Dessert: 7 up Cake

I will post each original recipe, along with a picture of the recipe and the finished product. I will also let you know if I modified anything for modern day. This chicky does not “grind” the skin of a chicken, so there may be some substitutions. I will also let you know what we thought.

For more GREAT  menu ideas– Skip on over to I’m an Organizing Junkie’s site.


As I was sifting through the cards, books, clipping and Gas Company fliers, I found these in the “What’s Cooking Carthage” book. Enjoy!

kitchen-prayer2

10-things

One response to “It’s Sunday!

  1. love the take time for 10 … really nice … Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

